09-10-2016, 04:20 PM
  • gp569900
  • Franklin, TN USA
User Info
Given my post's title, I'm assuming that you are already or are on you way to being a shaving addict like myself. Having said that, I also love stories.

I would love to hear your stories about when and how you became hooked on shaving. I'd also love to get an idea as to where people live and the general age that members are. I can tell that we have a worldwide collection of members of a great variety of ages. But, I am finding that there seems to be two large groups: the veterans and the new converts. Given that, I am sure your stories will be as varied as your locations, age, and history with wet shaving.

I will start in a comment below.

61 507
 09-10-2016, 04:39 PM
  • gp569900
  • Franklin, TN USA
User Info
While I have been shaving for almost thirty-five years, I historically dreaded it. I learned using cheap cartridges and canned gel. It was a daily chore that I loathed. In fact, I would seize every chance I could to not shave. Unfortunately, my employer of twenty-six years, until recently, required men to be clean-shaven. The only reprieve from the butchering would be vacations or weekends. There was a time back in college when I spent a summer in West Africa where I didn't shave or cut my hair the entire time. Beyond that, I've never had a beard. 

A few years back, I decided to treat myself to an hour-long, spa-like shave at my barber. The experience was transforming. The hot towels, the scents, the feel of cold steel on my face, the serenity of the slow process had me hooked. 

Immediately, I began scouring the net, researching the art of shaving. Since then, I have gone from purchasing my first EJ DE razor, a set up with an Omega Proraso boar's hair brush and some Proraso green soap to spending more time and money on my morning ritual than I ever thought humanly possible.