09-21-2016, 06:08 AM
User Info
Dear all,

I am a relative newbie in the DE razor shaving fraternity.

So far I have used the Wilkinson, the Voskhod, supermax and feather DE blades.
The Wilkinson and Voskhod gave me a smooth DFS shave but only for the first time. The second time I used them they were not shaving as well as in the first shave, tugging and not cutting where they pass.
The feather, I use for more than 1 time with the same results every time.
This had me confused when testing new razors as I would change blades between razors which were not new but used for a few times.
Even my favorite fat boy seemed below par today, but as soon as I changed to a new feather it transformed itself to my usual favorite again.
I proceeded t put a new feather in the fatip grande which I put aside as a non adequately performing razor and it improved it immensely.
Same with the X3 slant. It glided over the face like a dream.
My stubble is a hard one with 2-3 days of growth, but after that it softens up a bit.
Needles to say I cut myself in a few places with the feather but I love the feeling and intend to continue using it as my primary blade.
I read the Personna lab blues are the same with the feathers as far as smoothness and sharpness are concerned. I ordered a few to test.
Does it happen to other folk to use a new blade for just one time and then becoming so dull it cannot be used a second time?
I had the same problem with the carts, as I would not get as many shaves from a cart like my other friends.
Your experience and wisdom will be greatly appreciated.

0 313
 09-21-2016, 06:30 AM
  • Giorgio
  • Pennsylvania, US
User Info