10-27-2016, 05:07 AM
User Info
OK, I'm new to DE shaving. About 4 months in. Started with a Merkur 38 Barber Pole. It was fine, but switched to a Rockwell 6S. I appreciate the 6S due to its adjustability and because this adjustability is achievable via a change of plates. Once "assembled" there are no moving parts and nothing much to go wrong.

But I keep looking at threads talking about vintage DE razors, particularly those which are adjustable. Gillette Fat Boy, Slim, etc. I just can't get past the fact that these razors were sold for like $1.95 and, by many reports, the butterfly heads are less than consistent from one edge to the other. Not to mention the ravages of 50 years of usage.

OK, so where I'm going with this is: Are there any true advantages to these vintage razors? Or is the community's fascination simply the result of a longing to return to our youth?

The analogy in my head is a current Porsche 911 to a 1965 Porsche 911. I can appreciate the older model, but it doesn't compare to a new one in terms of fit, finish, performance, and driving experience, IMHO.

Any perspective would be appreciated. Thanks.

14 142
 10-27-2016, 05:19 AM
  • Snuff
  • Belgium
User Info
Impossible to answer IMHO, there are plenty of people when given the choice that would go for the 1965 Porsche 911 because they find it's still the real thing compared to a modern one. Lucky for you these razors are not that expensive so try for yourself or find someone in your region that's willing to loan you one.

I found several vintage razors that I like but none of them where adjustable (I prefer non adjustable even in modern razors).

28 1,442
 10-27-2016, 05:24 AM
  • eengler
  • Administrator
  • South Dakota, USA
User Info