03-09-2012, 09:22 PM
  • Songwind
  • Soap Slinger & Scuttle Pusher
  • Burnsville, MN
User Info
All this week I have been using a new soap from Mike's Natural Soaps. They came onto my radar because of a review over at B&B, and I was intrigued by the ingredients, and others' experiences.

MNS is a tallow based soap, which also contains vegetable glycerin and lanolin. The lanolin caught my eye, because I had just been sampling Mitchell's Wool Fat, and was planning to buy a puck. Then along comes this new soap, for less money for a heavier puck, and with scents!
When Mike announced a new scent, Orange/Cedarwood/Black Pepper, my mind was made up. I took delivery on Tuesday.

This is a very nice soap.

Lather: Lathering with it is a bit fiddly, not unlike MWF. Since I'm still pretty new to all this, my lather was not 100% reliable, but even when it was less than its full glory, it was slick and pleasantly fragrant.

Performance: After I shave with it, it leaves my skin feeling soft and moisturized. The blade slides smoothly over my skin. I got a full 3 pass shave with minimal irritation and a BBS result. (This is a major deal for me.)

Scent: The primary scent is a sharp, clean orange. Not overly sweet, like slicing into a good juicy one. It's followed up by spicy and woody undertones from the cedar and pepper. The orange remains the dominant scent, however.

The smell is incredibly intense in the bar. In fact, when I held the bar close to my face, it made me sneeze. Once lathered, I was left with a pleasantly scented orange lather than hovered around my head as I shaved without being overpowering. My wife said she could smell it on my skin for about an hour after I shaved.

Summary: I adore this soap. It has the slickness and skin moisturizing properties I loved in my MWF sample, and a wonderful scent. I see more Mike's soaps in my future.

10 1,858
 03-09-2012, 10:31 PM
  • Teiste
  • Moderator Emeritus
  • Salt Lake City,UT
User Info