01-12-2017, 12:42 PM
User Info
Hi guys Smile

I'm looking for some advice on shaving outdoors.

In the summer time, I work as a hunting guide. For 3 months we take turist out and hunt for raindeer/caribou and musk ox.
Normally we will stay out for a week at the time, and only get back to town for one day, and then back out hunting, with the next team.
This one day we try to relax and recharge the batteries for the next trip. For me this offcourse means shaving.
But unfortunently for me, my coarse, curly facial hair irritates my skin alot. And the one week with out shaving, leaves my skin a mess, so now I want to try cold water shaving when I'm out at camp (for now just one pass).

I know summer is still months away, but wet shaving is my hobby, so I started preparing for this project already.

So far my dopp kit candidates are:

Razor: PAA Bakelite (I am also considering a Gillette tech as a milder alternative, as the Bakelite is a little rough on my skin in cold water)

Brush: Plisson Synthetic ... (I really prefer a synthetic with more backbone, but I'm not gonna bring my Mühle XL or the Chubby 2 thats on it's way, out into the wild) ... but looking for a cheaper alternative

Aftershave: Gentlemens Refinery Unscented balm and Fine Snakebite AS splash (which I might, or might not use) + sheabutter offcourse..

Soap/cream: ... help is really needed here.. PAA scent free..? (PAA is not my favourite, but its easy to use, and they have a scentless version)

Any advice you guys can give on shave gear, tecnique or just anything you feel is worth mentioning for shaving outdoors, is greatly appreciated.
We are hunting in west Greenland in the summer time. The air will be VERY dry. And we will be outdoors all the time, sleeping in tents. Wind and weather can be hard on the skin.
Also we first sail for 2 hours and then hike for several hours up into the mountains to get to camp. We are totally alone. No phone, no electricity, nothing. So I have to bring everything myself.