02-23-2017, 09:03 PM
User Info
Hello,
      I'm new to artisan shaving. Where is a good place for a beginner to start; a shaving soap or a shaving cream? And which kind, as I know there are many different kinds?
    Also; I know it can also depend on whether you have hard or soft water as to how well the product works. But being a beginner, at this point, I don't know what my water hardness is. Is there an accurate way to test for water hardness?
Thank you

0 73
 02-23-2017, 09:18 PM
User Info
In my book, the 3 essential shaving soaps are Mike's Natural Soap, Cold River Soap Works (select or premium line), and Barrister and Mann (latha or glissant line). These soaps seem pricey, but well worth the investment.

On a budget soap, Stirling is great for the price.

I don't use creams anymore, but when I did, Speick was my favorite.

10 165
 02-23-2017, 09:21 PM
User Info
I guess the best answer for the first question is a resounding Yes... a soap can be more fun and easier to load right, a cream in a tube can make less mess and gives you control on the exact amount of product used. It can also depend on whether you plan to bowl of face lather... creams are in my opinion more suited to bowl lathering than they are to face lathering. As for what kind, that is an even more loaded question, if you excuse the pun... I started out with a known and well recommended big name, but others have started with artisan soaps with good results.

You could try to contact your local waterworks to ask about how hard your water is - they need to know when they run it through their treatment plant. However - if you are from where I think you are - your water should be moderately hard (107  ppm (mg equivalent CaCO3/L, as CaCO3)) if you get your water from the KC Water Services. If you're on well water it's likely harder.

3 4,484
 02-23-2017, 09:26 PM
User Info
Start with a budget friendly cream, like Speick or Proraso
Then later on try a soap or two or three......

24 5,965