02-27-2017, 10:05 PM
User Info
When it comes to scuttles, mugs or bowls, where should a total and complete beginner start?

0 67
 02-27-2017, 10:46 PM
User Info
I would suggest keeping it as simple as possible when you start, a soft soap, picked up on a boar brush and a warmed shaving bowl to get lather working should be enough to keep you busy in the beginning.

Scuttles are very nice and do the job but are in fact just a luxury, not a necessity. Better to spend more time concentrating on getting your face prepared and getting the lather worked into the facial hair.

0 38
 02-28-2017, 04:13 AM
User Info
You could start by face lathering and do without the mug, bowl or scuttle.   However, if you want one of those I suggest a simple bowl.  It doesn't have to be made exclusively for shaving.  What's important is that it be large enough to give you the room to whip up the lather.  I find mugs to be, generally,  too deep and not wide enough to work optimally.

41 5,077
 02-28-2017, 04:19 AM
User Info
do you live in a cold climate? cold house? like warm lather? scuttle.

34 852
 02-28-2017, 10:47 AM
  • Mel S Meles
  • On the edge, ouch
  • 44.4899° south of the North Pole
User Info
(02-28-2017, 04:13 AM)TheLegalRazor Wrote: I find mugs to be, generally, too deep and not wide enough to work optimally.

Signs011

If the mug is deep enough for a satisfying cuppa joe, then — almost certainly — one is going to be banging his knuckles and the handle of the brush against the sides when mixing the soap with the water. Two and a half inches, or six centimeters, is about the maximum depth for a good lather prep.

0 1,005
 03-01-2017, 05:48 AM
User Info
I would start with face or hand lathering.  Both work very well for me.

2 155
 03-01-2017, 09:17 AM
  • doc47
  • Northern Arizona
User Info