03-05-2017, 06:50 AM
User Info
Dear gents;

This week my boss finally approved my vacations for this year. I will be taking the kids to central Mexico in mid july.

Therefore, i started practicing. My lady gave me a bag, perfect for the shaving stuff. So we went to Fajardo to take our sailboat out to the spanish virgin islands.

I took: proraso red preshave; shannon's silk pillamas tallow soap; a pure badger brush; merkur 41C 1904; kai blade; brut aftershave; bumbury balm.

[Image: 6704881fcb375304e61cb2e25b42ba68.jpg]

The wind was blowing in excess of 30 knots, so we stayed all weekend safely in Marina Puerto Chico.

[Image: 9af21a03b338ab4d1ef3bde708aa62c8.jpg]

Saturday morning came about and i finally had the opportunity to shave with a small mirror in my hand. Although i was not in the desert, didnt shave with a bowie knife and i am not Clint Eastwood, it was like a dream come true. I have been watching too many westerns lately. Jajaja.

[Image: 3812b5f0072a8d6b8ea0b0c48db4722a.jpg]

The save was amazing. It was done in the middle of a Pelican's breakfast buffet. They were diving from 50 feet in the air all around me, sitting in the cockpit of my boat.

A couple of weeks ago i posted a thread about wet shaving and traveling. Some of the guys said that they never brought anything irreplaceable with them. So i brought my Merkur 41C.

I had a really nice surprise. I shaved with it a few times, but never with a kai blade. Keeping up with Meles' approach not to quit anything too soon, i kept it in the rotation. I still think that it is too mild for me, and that you almost dont feel the balde at all. So i did a five pass shave. North to south. South to north, east to west, west to east and a diagonal. What a surprise. It was an amazing 10 hours bbs. No weepers. No irritation. I still dont like the fact that some light pressure has to be used, but that is a preference of mine. The fact remains the same: it is a good shaver.