03-13-2017, 03:55 AM
User Info
I am old(er) and my beard is grisly gray and feels like 40 grit sandpaper.  I have been shaving forever, or so it seems.  I started in 1969 with a safety razor (don't remember the type), wilkinson sword blades and Noxzema brushless shaving cream.  I soon switched to carts and then the horrible BIC disposables, but I was a college student then.  What did I know?   In time I settled into the world of carts and shaving GEL. Those were the dark years of lousy, expensive shaves.  5 years ago I rediscovered wetshaving and it has been a fun ride through memory lane and great shaves.

I have a fairly large collection of vintage GEM razors which I enjoy.  My favorite daily ride is the Bullet or the Clog Pruf.  The MMOC is a little too aggressive for daily use.  I also own a variety of vintage safety razors with my favorite being the Gillette New Open Comb.  Over the years I have owned most of the ATT line at one time or another.  The one in my cupboard at this time is the ATT S2 open comb slant mated to a kronos handle.  

There is nothing quite like trying out a new razor.  In the case of the SE1, it is also my first try with a modern SE razor mated to a shavette blade.  My very first thought was that the shavette blade is really wide.  I wondered if I would be able to control it.  (Turned out not to be an issue.)  I screwed the ATT Kronos handle onto the SE1 and I was not happy.  Visually, it seemed off to me with too wide a head for a skinny, short handle; and the razor seemed head heavy as well.  I pulled out an Apollo handle (97mm; 100gm) that had been sitting in a drawer for several years because it always seemed too long and too heavy for a standard safety razor head.  The SE1 not only looked right with the longer and wider Apollo handle, but the balance was better as well.  The combo is beastly heavy but felt right in my hand.  Loading a Kai Captain Titan Mild into the razor was a snap.