03-20-2017, 09:49 AM
User Info
I've been considering a Plisson HMW 2 band brush for some time but also been hesitant to chase one for a number of reasons; rarity, price, tip softness and known shedding issues.
I have limited experience with Plisson brushes and seek some help from experienced members here with these brushes. I've used 3 HMW 3 band brushes in the past (all size 12) and i wasn't totally impressed!
One had awful shedding problem and scritchy tips, the other two while didn't shed they weren't as soft as I prefer my brushes to be.

I am seeking feedback regarding the HMW 2 band brushes, mainly concerning face feel and softness. I enjoy splay and not too much backbone which I would think are characteristics of Plisson brushes given knot specs.
I have a very sensitive skin and so I prefer very soft brushes with minimum scrub but not too much and certainly no scritch. Before I start hunting for such an expensive brush, I would like to make sure it will work for me!

For the record I use and enjoy The Varlet, Wiborg White Badger, Simpson SilverTip and Romera Manchurian. I've found these brushes to fit my preference of medium backbone/density, soft tips, good splay and good flaw through.
On the other hand I've used M&F, Rooney 2 band, Simpson 3 band Best, Paladin etc... and I haven't totally enjoyed them due to either too much backbone, short lofts, too much scrub or poor flaw through!
FWIW, I prefer knots in the 22-24mm range!

Thanks for the help.. Please feel free to post pics of your Plisson brushes  Biggrin they are always a pleasure to look at whether two or three band.

8 766
 03-20-2017, 12:39 PM
  • Bony
  • New York , USA
User Info