08-17-2012, 03:00 PM
User Info
I am having a hard time Lathering this soap, I can stand there for 5 or 6 minutes and its still on the watery and light side, I have no water in the bowl when I start the lathering, I shake my brush out really well. I get a lot of suds but that is about it? I am new to this i have only have a total of like 5 or 6 Wet Shaves. I got a DE razor, the 1954 Gillette Z3 Super speed at a local Antique store for like $18 bucks and it looks brand new! I thank you in advance God Bless!

0 14
 08-17-2012, 03:40 PM
User Info
When you say you are lathering in the bowl, is the soap puck still present?

Edit:I saw that you purchased the premium shave set. Here is the first video in a three part series that will help you in getting a good performance from your set. The other parts of the videos in this series are linked at the end of this video. Part 2 will show you how to face lather, and part 3 will show you how to bowl lather. Welcome to the forums!

1 168
 08-17-2012, 03:42 PM
  • brian
  • I wear sandalwood sandles
  • THE SWAMP (Florida)
User Info
Hi Charlie, and welcome to the Nook and the wonderful world of wet shaving! We're glad to have you!

Since your VDH is glycerine based, you may find you get much better results by letting an approximate teaspoon of tap water sit on your puck before going at it with your brush.
What type of brush are you using? If it's a badger, I find they hold so much water that your loading will (may) actually benefit from giving your brush a firm squeeze to get even more water out.
When you're ready to load, you can dump the water off your puck (and into your lather bowl if that's your style...) then spin your brush on the puck until you get a thick paste on the tips of your bristles. If you are using a badger brush, you'll actually see the hairs start to clump together because of that pasty "proto"lather.

As with most problems that arise in wet shaving, "more product" always seems to be the answer!