04-08-2017, 10:36 AM
User Info
I've been making my own lather for about two months now and consistently having the same issue; I can't get the lather that's in/on the brush to transfer to my face. Shaving videos that I've seen all wind up with a nice thick 1/8" coating of lather on the face; but for me it's about 1/16" with a touch of skin pink showing through. Even if I scoop a nice big dollop from the bowl with the brush; when I try and even it out......the lather disappears and what remains is that same 1/16" . The lather looks nice and is the same or thicker consistency than foam-in-a-can.
Bowl lathering: Plenty for a 3 pass shave with about a shot glass that can be squeezed out of the brush afterwards.
Face lathering: Easier with a somewhat thicker coating when I'm through. Can only get 2 passes though before having to squeeze the last from the brush.

Brush: Kent Blk4
Cream: T&H West Indian Lime or TOOBS St. James

I've tried more product - less product and more water - less water etc. nothing makes much difference.
Suggestions and advice very welcome!

Thanks.
RON

0 189
 04-08-2017, 12:13 PM
  • chazt
  • Bayside, NY
User Info
Perhaps a different soap is in order?

Use even more product.

Try bottled water? Distilled water?

Try face lathering for 5 minutes before putting a blade to your beard.

Good luck. Let us know how it works out. Don't give up. You'll get there.

7 2,151
 04-08-2017, 03:39 PM
  • doc47
  • Northern Arizona
User Info
I'd agree, try face lathering for 4-5 minutes. If you don't already do it, try wetting your puck with a teaspoon of warm water while your brush soaks. Pour water into a bowl, load your brush with the softened soap and build lather starting with the soap water your poured out. This may help. Good luck.

11 659
 04-09-2017, 08:29 AM
User Info