04-16-2017, 02:35 PM
User Info
What is the difference in performance between animal or tallow based soaps and vegetable based soaps? Which will soften my facial hairs best and bring the most moisture to my whiskers? I'm just beginning to use EShave soap and am pleased so far. It is a triple-milled vegetable based soap, and it seems to lather well on my face with my Da Vinci silver-tipped badger brush. But I'm new to this and need guidance. I'm looking for the most effective shave soap, preferably in a lavender scent.

0 8
 04-16-2017, 04:08 PM
  • EricM
  • Encinitas, CA
User Info
There are many top performing soaps on both ends of the spectrum. The only way you'll know what performs best for you is to try it. On the veg side I give a big thumbs up to Nuavia. It is seriously good soap and perhaps the only veg soap where I could have used no post shave product. On the animal/tallow side I'm a huge fan of L&L and Tallow & Steel, although T&S is difficult to find right now (they are transitioning to a new formula using tallow but no lanolin). The post shave feel with T&S is the best I've experienced and the soap performance is awesome. Overall, I tend to get better post shave feel with tallow based soaps.

I also really like SMN V3, saponificio varesino (especially good post shave feel), CRSW (Lavish is lavender) B&M, Castle Forbes (makes a really nice lavender!) and Chiseled Face.

I think many of us are still trying to find our holy grail soaps. Enjoy the journey! Biggrin

Eric

49 986
 04-16-2017, 04:40 PM
  • pbrmhl
  • Seattle
User Info
Eric has it right. Personally, I don't even notice whether a soap is tallow or veggie before I buy. I have many great ones of both variety, including most of what Eric mentioned. For example, Nuavia and T+S are two of my best soaps also but, until I read his post, I'd forgotten which was which (assuming I once knew at all).

6 385
 04-16-2017, 06:58 PM
User Info