05-21-2017, 07:10 PM
User Info
Greetings,
       I'm thinking of extending my shaving creams collection somewhat. As a beginner, I've started out with Proraso shaving cream in a tube and like it quite a bit. However, I'm starting to run kind of low on it, so I thought I might try some other different creams as I continue to learn and experiment in this new-to-me hobby. I prefer 100% all-natural ingredients, but it doesn't have be. So what are some suggestions on some good beginner creams that lather easily and aren't too terribly expensive?
Thank you

0 70
 05-21-2017, 07:23 PM
  • Steve56
  • Knoxville, TN
User Info
I think you will have a difficult time finding creams that are 'all natural' because they contain a higher percentage of water and need to have preservatives and things to keep the cream from separating.

That said, I Coloniali Rhubarb cream, one of the very best, is 50% off at SRD, $9.50 a tube. You cannot go wrong here.

If you can afford the initial 'hit' a tub of Castle Forbes from shaving.ie is about $32 for 200ml (plus shipping from Ireland which isn't bad) and it's close to a year's worth of soap and one of the very best creams.

Cheers, Steve

7 466
 05-21-2017, 09:24 PM
  • SCOV
  • Minnesota
User Info
Proraso  was one of my first creams also.  Good stuff.  I bought the big tube that felt like an eternity to finish.  Like you, I wanted to try other creams

Most of the English creams are very good - Bullgoose has good selection: Taylor of Bond Street (TOBS), Castle Forbes (CF), Geo.F. Trumpet (GFT), D.R.Harris, Kent
My current favorite is Fitjar Islands
I did like Triumph and Disaster for performance, old time barber shop scent
Bigelow and Spick are good values -I liked both

Several factors including ingredients, performance, scent, strength of scent, etc.  Try for some sample sizes or sample packs

4 296
 05-21-2017, 09:33 PM
User Info