08-20-2012, 07:09 PM
User Info
Hello guys what is the best way to effectively clean a Brush that has a soap ring around the bottom I would like my brushes to last a very long time

12 568
 08-20-2012, 07:37 PM
User Info
http://www.shaveinfo.com/videos/brush_cleaning.htm

9 2,988
 08-20-2012, 07:50 PM
  • ben74
  • Administrator
  • Perth, Australia
User Info
I use MAC Brush Cleanser...

[attachment=5200]

"This one product will clean, disinfect and condition the brush fibres so that brushes will last longer. It is convenient to use and is specifically designed to extend the life of high quality brushes. Brush Cleanser leaves your brushes smelling fresh and clean and helps shorten their drying time."

Obviously it's targeted at make-up brushes, but these are generally natural fibres too and some of my wife's premium brushes are as expensive as my shaving ones! I've been using it for a couple of years and am very happy with the product.

Available at:

http://www.maccosmetics.com/product/135/...index.tmpl

91 17,876
 08-20-2012, 08:11 PM
User Info
The video that Lee posted is a very good one.

75 20,883
 08-20-2012, 08:42 PM
User Info
I just lather and shave with a glycerine soap. But as good as this leaves the brush, one use of a saponified soap undoes it all and the water no longer soaks in as it did after cleaning. So I don't get all religious about brush cleaning.

BTW, 100 years ago gents just used, over and over, their brushes w/o the benefit of cleaners and such and some of those brushes are in use today.

If it makes you feel better to clean your brush, go for it. But I chill out and use them and when they line up with a glycerine soap they get their cleaning. It couldn't be easier or more laid back.

32 6,311
 08-23-2012, 08:56 AM
User Info
ShadowsDad I doubt they didn't have vinegar.
Which is the only thing you need to clean your brush.
It de-calcifies. Soak it in 1/3 vinegar 2/3 water for a night and rinse thoroughly.

0 50
 08-23-2012, 09:12 AM
User Info