08-21-2012, 05:06 PM
User Info
So I'm rather new to the SE scene and feel completely out of my element in regard to blade choice for my newly acquired SEs. It seems like variety of SE blades is not as great as that of DEs, but maybe that's a good thing as it narrows down the choices. I was able to find some SE blades locally at CVC (CVS branded blades); I'm assuming these are standard steel?

That being said what are you guys using(I know this is probably one of the biggest YMMV factors in shaving)? Is there much difference between the brands, coatings, stainless v. standard steel, etc.?

Thanks!

5 938
 08-21-2012, 05:06 PM
User Info
GEM Stainless.

1 2,827
 08-21-2012, 05:47 PM
  • krissy
  • Cando, North Dakota
User Info
How about also adding where you get them as well for any newbies to the scene.... Eusa_whistle

7 405
 08-21-2012, 05:57 PM
User Info
I prefer the carbon steel blades. Treet, PAL, Gem blue stars. I can find them local here in the 5 packs at several stores. If you use them it is best to dry them after use. Than again I dry the SS ones also.

1 55
 08-21-2012, 06:05 PM
User Info
(08-21-2012, 05:47 PM)krissy Wrote: How about also adding where you get them as well for any newbies to the scene.... Eusa_whistle

Gem Stainless
Amazon 4 packs of 10 each.

http://www.amazon.com/Gem-Personnal-Stai...less+steel

1 2,827
 08-21-2012, 07:48 PM
User Info
Thank you kind Sirs and Mam!

In my hunting I came across the website below. Looks like it would be a good place to purchase if you are looking to buy in bulk.

http://www.tedpella.com/dissect_html/dis...hor1623602

5 938
 08-21-2012, 07:54 PM
User Info
Well, yes it's still YMMV, but not as much as with DE shaving. The blade choices are all pretty good.

First, any SE blade from Korea, form your fingers into a cross and back away from them. They're window scraper blades. Hardware store blades? More window scraper blades.