08-02-2017, 04:29 PM
User Info
Hi All,

I was wondering if any of our Shave Nook Brush Experts could let me know:

How does changing these 4 parameters in a Brush affect the Brush / Use overall?

• Knot size :  
  • Hair length:
  • Handle diameter :  
  • Handle height :  

I've only ever used a Simpsons Duke 3 in Best Badger hair. So I'm trying to figure out if I should try something with *more* Handle height, or shorter? Or a bigger Handle diameter? or the Hair Length a little longer or shorter?

I'm guessing longer Hair Length in the Knot = "Floppier" feel?

But what about the other parameters? What's an ideal Handle Diameter? Is there a good "grip" to aim for? Or is it just personal feel? etc.

Thanks!

3 298
 08-02-2017, 06:24 PM
User Info
Hey bud I'm not an expert at all but really when it comes to brushes it's complete preference of the user . Some people like scrubby brushes some love softer brushes . As far as Handle size it really depends on your hand size and what's comfortable to you . I have larger hands so I generally gravitate towards larger brushes . When it comes to this YMMV .

20 294
 08-02-2017, 09:57 PM
  • SCOV
  • Minnesota
User Info
List what you like about the Simpson and what could be improved.  

Most handle parameters depend on personal preferences (like stated above).  There is some logic to knots (face lather, like backbone, fan vs bulb, etc).  More specific info on your shaving would be helpful.  

I have always wanted a Thater brush - BullGoose has nice selection.  Several artisans listed (have purchased from Brad Sears, Paladin, Elite Razor) - they may have time to be helpful.

Thread tittle like "beer lover wants advice on best knot for face lathering"  should get numerous responses.

5 427
 08-03-2017, 08:44 AM
User Info
* Knot size = the larger the knot, the more face feel you'll experience; the more product you'll use; the longer the time it will take to generate lather; the longer the time it takes to dry