08-29-2012, 06:31 PM
User Info
Good evening all!

If you'll pardon a bit of redundancy from the Introductions Forum, my name is Paul, I'm from Cincinnati, Ohio and I've just recently stumbled into the world of wet shaving.

Since I'm completely new to all of this, I'm wondering if anyone out there might be able to offer some direction on the subject of brushes?

Here's my predicament:

I had been leaning towards one of a few different Simpson models, but after reading Teiste's "The Best Brush For The Money Is..." thread (That guy puts in some serious work by the way! Thanks, Teiste!), I'm now thinking about the Vulfix 404 Grosvenor. Since I'm not sure if I'm going to prefer creams or soaps, face or bowl lathering, etc., and since it's a bit less expensive than some of its Simpson counterparts, I thought it might make sense to go the more economical route in the beginning.

Is this being short-sighted? Would I be better off spending the money up front? What do the good folks at the 'Nook have to say?

One last thought, and I'm not sure if this factors into the decision or not, but I do tend have fairly sensitive skin.

All the help is GREATLY appreciated! Thanks a million!

- Paul

0 7
 08-29-2012, 06:33 PM
User Info
This might be a good read:
The Difference Between High End and Low Cost Brushes

And, spending the money upfront is a better option than skimping. That said, you're paying way more for the Simpson name than a huge bump in quality vs. other brands.

9 2,988
 08-29-2012, 07:02 PM
User Info
My first brush that was a good all rounder was the Frank Shaving Finest. For < $30 shipped it was a great deal for me.

However, with this being your first brush I'd recommend a Muhle Black Fibre. Great with both soaps & creams; it can lather anything. It produces a very creamy lather & has a very small learning curve.

31 7,912
 08-29-2012, 07:21 PM
User Info