01-13-2018, 08:28 AM
User Info
... what happened?  

Did you convert completely, meaning that now you shave with straight razors exclusively?  

Did you partially convert, meaning that now you shave with straight razors but also still shave with DEs and/or SEs?  If so, what percentage of your shaves is with a straight?

Did you originally convert completely but then revert to partial conversion, meaning that you shaved exclusively with straights for a period of time, but now shave with straights sometimes and DE/SE sometimes? 

Did you originally convert completely but then completely revert, meaning that you shaved exclusively with straights for a period of time but now never or only rarely use a straight? 

Did you switch to a "convenience schedule," meaning that you only shave with straights on the weekends or on days you have off work?  

I'm just getting started with shavettes and have a straight off for honing, so I am very curious to hear your stories.

3 1,936
 01-13-2018, 09:24 AM
User Info
I havent used my DE since I started straight razor shaving.

0 100
 01-13-2018, 09:29 AM
User Info
After BBS with a DE & SE blades moving to straights held my interest & gave me something new to learn.
I didn't want to use a DE for touch-ups so I'd do the best I could as I progressed making note of where I needed to improve.
I think I've used a DE once in the past few years.  Still enjoying the challenge & results.

20 170
 01-13-2018, 10:58 AM
  • Gabe
  • Arizona
User Info
Very similar to the previous responses. I switched last April and rarely use DEs.... let alone my single SE. I've used a DE maybe 10-20 times since April. Mostly in the beginning when I was learning. Now that I am decent with a straight, I rarely use a DE.

90 1,719
 01-13-2018, 02:10 PM
User Info
I've used them for 40 years. Used DE's a lot when I had small children running around underfoot, travelling, moving residences or when I oversleep

3 827
 01-13-2018, 04:14 PM
User Info