02-04-2018, 08:34 PM
  • JABF99
  • Illinois
User Info
I'm using a Feather SS with the Japanese style straight handle, and using it with the Feather Pro blades.  I'm still new to this, and going through the learning curve.  After my first couple shaves I was not doing so well.  But now it's going a lot better, and I am actually enjoying my shaves.  Each shave seems to be a bit better than the last.  I was a bit dejected after my first shave or two though.  It was a humbling experience for me... there's a lot to learn going from my DE to the Feather SS.

I have my 65th birthday in 6 months and I think my wife will let me buy a straight razor for my birthday.  I am considering having a custom razor made by Jerry Stark.  Has anyone here had experience with his razors?  My first question is about the steel material options.  What would you recommend as a steel, and why?  Thank you in advance for any input.  I appreciate it.

High Carbon 52100
D2 Tool Steel
W2 Tool Steel
High Carbon 1095
Damascus

0 29
 02-05-2018, 04:28 AM
  • Sully
  • Super Moderator
  • Cedar Park, Texas
User Info
High carbon 52100 if worked properly will make an amazing knife, I'm not sure what kind of razor it will make.  Have you asked Jerry what he recommends and why?

10 1,696
 02-05-2018, 04:42 AM
  • JABF99
  • Illinois
User Info
(02-05-2018, 04:28 AM)Sully Wrote: High carbon 52100 if worked properly will make an amazing knife, I'm not sure what kind of razor it will make.  Have you asked Jerry what he recommends and why?

That is my next step.  I am trying to get a general idea of what I want first, and then run it all by him and see what he recommends.

0 29
 02-05-2018, 06:07 AM
  • Snuff
  • Belgium
User Info