09-02-2012, 06:39 PM
  • matloffm
  • Culver City, CA
User Info
I currently shave with a variety of DE razors, but I have been toying with the idea of using a straight razor. I currently own an old Bartman and have used it to shave my cheeks. But the more I explore the topic the more it seems imperative to be able to use the razor in either hand. Is it possible to shave well with a straight only using the dominant hand or is it essential to be ambidextrous? If you can use only one hand, are there special techniques or do you just do the best you can? My left hand has a slight tremor so this is really a big deal for me. Confused

16 542
 09-02-2012, 08:07 PM
User Info
i am not an expert on straight shaving, but i have tried it a few times and i do not see how you can be very comfortable with only using one hand to shave your whole face. It is possible, but, you may find it very challenging, especially, if you are trying to improve your technique.
i am hoping a few of the more experienced gents will come along and reply. Good luck, but i would highly suggest you try both hands. It is not as hard as you would imagine.

75 20,883
 09-02-2012, 08:55 PM
User Info
Of course you can!

The Japanese straight razor is designed for single handed use (right hand).

I shaved with one hand for years.

That said, it is vastly easier to get a couple of places using your left hand.

But, if you are dexterous enough, you can get it all done equally well.

9 2,988
 09-02-2012, 08:55 PM
User Info
I'm in the process of learning, and I would guess that it might be slightly more difficult to shave the left side of your face with your right hand, but it certainly can be done. What the heck, you have to learn new techniques anyway to use the razor. Look at the videos on youtube and you will see all kinds of different techniques.

0 5
 09-02-2012, 09:09 PM
User Info