06-02-2018, 12:55 AM
User Info
Hello all dear friends,

I'm one who has so far been chaising  BBS in every single shave. I don't really get a lot of cuts as I have some experience with DE's & SE's but a bit of irritation is present after every BBS attempt. Last shave I decided to leave it at DFS. One pass and a few corrections XTG. That was all. Obviously it took less time to shave but this is not the issue here. Visually the resulting shave looked as good as BBS, but I could feel some stubble under the jaw line which didn't bother me at all. The shave was completely irritation free, to the point that aftershave balm was not really needed. Two days after the shave, I see that the growth is not that much longer had I achieved  BBS.
Now I'm beginning to think that BBS is not needed as it doesn't look any better than DFS and the skin remains irritation free. YMMV.

0 448
 06-02-2018, 01:53 AM
User Info
Caveat: Like everything else when it comes to wetshaving, this is likely down to personal preference and all that.

To me a SAS/DFS is a better target than a BBS, regardless of using a DE, SE or disposable. As you have experienced, a BBS can and often will cause irritation and even shave bumps and weepers - and for me at least shave bumps means I need to back of the shaving for a few days... and that is a sad thing.

I would still use an aftershave balm or other moisturisers even if the shave feels completely irritation free though... both to be on the safe side and because, honestly, putting it on feels good and is part of the shaving experience Biggrin

3 5,821
 06-02-2018, 03:49 AM
User Info
Chasing the Baby is a sure recipe for disaster. My credo: Focus on removing the lather, not the hair; ride the cap (i.e. maintain the angle); make sure the lather is well-hydrated. The Baby will find you.  Biggrin

50 4,730
 06-02-2018, 03:53 AM
  • Bony
  • New York , USA
User Info