08-13-2018, 12:31 PM
User Info
Greetings gent’s I’ve been looking for some information about Rooney shaving brushes for a few days already, it’s a lot of info about this topic but I haven’t found what I’m looking for.
I’m still new at wet shaving therefore still learning and for me is very confusing the way Rooney shaving brushes are classified,
Can somebody explain to me what the 3/1- 3/2 -3/3- 1/2 number means excuse my ignorance about this but I will really appreciate it if somebody can teach me about Rooney.
Thank you.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

7 236
 08-13-2018, 02:35 PM
  • German
  • Simpson 2 Band Aficionado
  • USA
User Info
Oh wow... where to start!!! ???

First welcome to the forum! Then I suggest to do a forum search for Rooney brushes. Many threads should pop up.

The nomenclature of 1/1 etc refers to Style/Size. There were three styles and three sizes explaining the combinations. However, there are also many other style Rooney brushes, e.g. Beehive, Emillion, Alibaba, the XL series, the Stubby series.

There is a rich history of Rooney brushes notably 2005 to 2010 when Lee Sabini was deeply involved who then revitalized the M&F label. Again, do a search if interested.

43 2,071
 08-14-2018, 04:00 AM
  • jar
User Info
There were also lots of truly great shaving brushes from when it was a family operation.

[Image: large.jpg]

Some larger brushes; from the left, a Simpson Chubby 3 from Truefitt & Hill, a Kent H 12, an old almost certainly Rooney Persian Jar and an old Simpson #58:
[Image: large.jpg]

0 257
 08-14-2018, 06:20 AM
  • BSWoodturning
  • Co-Owner, Brad Sears ShaveWorks
  • Maryland Eastern Shore
User Info
(08-13-2018, 02:35 PM)German Wrote: Oh wow... where to start!!! ???

First welcome to the forum! Then I suggest to do a forum search for Rooney brushes. Many threads should pop up.