09-02-2018, 08:24 AM
  • nikos.a
  • Athens, Greece
User Info
Like most of you, I've tried a number of pre-shave products, including creams, lotions and oils. Back in 2012, when I started this wonderful journey, they were recommended by many shavers, so I thought it'd be nice to give them a try. Also, it was easy to find them here, so no online purchases for them.

With the exception of some oils I tried and stopped almost immediately using, some creams and lotions( p.e. Proraso and EJ) gave me a nice feeling. The ones I tried had a nice menthol touch. As a beginner I thought that they play a role in the efficiency of the shave itself, except of the nice and refreshing feeling. For some reason, I used to feel safer back then when using them. They worked as a placebo, if I can say that.

At some point, I stopped using any of them, gave them to friends to choose for themself if they work or not. I understood that they don't really play any role, except of the nice feeling. You won't have a better or closer shave. That's what I truly believe. It's all about the shaving technique after all. I haven't used any pre-shave product for years now and I never actually needed them since then.

All I do now is to apply warm water to the shaving area with my hands or the brush I'm about to use and work the lather for about a minute on my face before start shaving. Pretty simple I'd say. And that's it. I never face-lather, the warm lather you get from a scuttle is out of competition, really. I just work for some time the lather to prepare the beard. I found that it's enough to prepare you beard for a great shave. My shaves now are better than ever, leaving any pre-shave product out of the den.