09-02-2018, 09:34 AM
  • SRNewb
  • No. Va, USA
User Info
Hi, I am new to photography, and shooting basically point and shot digital, and 35mm SLR.
I want to buy a cheaper DSLR body(thinking 8-10mp Canon EOS from KEH), but use the Minolta lenses I have on my 35mm at the moment.I know that these casn be used, but will have to be used manually, which is how I shoot the 35mm anyway.
Are there any pitfalls or anything I should be aware of when using these specific adapters, and are there cheaper options that work as well?
Thanks.

2 1,808
 09-03-2018, 11:44 AM
  • Mel S Meles
  • On the edge, ouch
  • 44.4899° south of the North Pole
User Info
(09-02-2018, 09:34 AM)SRNewb Wrote: Hi, I am new to photography, and shooting basically point and shot digital, and 35mm SLR.
I want to buy a cheaper DSLR body(thinking 8-10mp Canon EOS from KEH), but use the Minolta lenses I have on my 35mm at the moment.I know that these casn be used, but will have to be used manually, which is how I shoot the 35mm anyway.
Are there any pitfalls or anything I should be aware of when using these specific adapters, and are there cheaper options that work as well?
Thanks.

O.k., here is my very opinionated, but fact-based, opinion.  Maybe half of the experienced photographers reading this will agree with all or part of what follows.

o  I understand both the budgetary and the nostalgic elements of your desire to keep your Minolta film-era lenses.  My first serious camera was a Minolta SR-T101, and it was the only camera that I owned or used for over a decade; it served me well, and never gave me problems, and I liked the two lenses (58 mm f/1.4 and 135 mm f/3.5) that I used with it.  BUT . . .