09-13-2018, 06:42 AM
User Info
Hello All!  I am new to DE shaving, having used electrics for many years (no longer taking blood thinners, so DE is OK now), having used my last DE about 50-ish years ago....   I have fairly fine hair, mildly sensitive skin, and get congestion (allergies) from many 'scents' and fragrances.  I have a moustache and chin-beard., so no challenging lip and chin-area shaving required for me.

I am somewhat obsessive about new hobbies/habits, etc. and have been researching like crazy and have purchased a bunch of stuff to experiment with.  So far, so good, but the lust for more/different equipment is strong within me.  I am also lucky enough to have QBrothers in town, so indulging my tendiencies is far too easy, not to mention Amazon Prime....

All that said by way of background and a long-ish hello, I am really curious what you folks would say about the relative importance/contribution of technique vs tools for getting a great shave. It furstrates me that I have to wait a decent amount of time between shaves (aka 'experiments') to compare, e.g., blades, or settings on an adjustable razor. 

So far I have purchased a Qshave adjustable razor, a Merkur 34C, and a Rockwell 6S, in that order.  Blade-wise, I have gotten the Astra Platinum, Feather Platinum, Green package 7 Oclock, German Wilkinson Sword, Voskhod, Polsilver and the throw-in blades that came with the three razors I have purchased.  I have tried all the blades except the Polsivers, so far.  The Feather and Astra were early-on, and my technique may not have been up to the task.  The 7 Oclock and Wilkinson have given me pretty good shaves, as has the Voskhod.....

I use an Art of Shaving hand-made badger brush ( pretty sure I overpaid for it) along with Old Taylor's organic shaving cream.  I wet-towel my face, shave oil, lather, then do 3 passes....

Is there a blade, razor, brush or ??? that should be on my list of things to explore?