01-05-2019, 02:05 PM
User Info
Hi guys. This is my first time in the java forum (I’m a vet of the shaving side of the house), so pls forgive me if this has been discussed before. I love my morning Americanos and need a machine for my home that makes great espresso shots for my Americano. I tried the Nespresso original pods, but they seem too small in quantity and not very hot (perhaps I’m doing something wrong?). My budget is $500 or less. Should I go for fully auto (e.g. Delonghi Magnifica refurb???) or some other type of machine or style? For reference, I also love making French press at home. Just looking for a no fuss way to get great espresso shots. Any advice you can offer would be much appreciated. Thanks friends!

46 460
 01-05-2019, 03:11 PM
  • Barrylu
  • Portland OR
User Info
Got time for a story. A man heard his neighbor torturing his dog every night. Every night the dog would scream in pain. Finally, he could take it no longer. He pounded on the neighbor's door and demanded he stop torturing his dog. The man explained that he wasn't torturing his dog. Instead he loved the dog so much he didn't want to hurt him. However, the dog needed to have his tail cropped. So as to minimize the pain he just cut a small piece of the dogs tail off every night.
The moral of this story is that ; you are starting on a very slippery expensive slope. Anything you buy in the 500 dollar range you will quickly outgrow and want to replace. Eventually, you will find you have spent a lot more money if you started with a bigger budget than 500.
Finally, the rule is grinder first. in order to make good espresso. your grind must be near perfect. Grinders which perform well for espresso are up close to or well above the 500 dollar range.

81 1,181
 01-05-2019, 03:22 PM
User Info