03-26-2019, 07:34 AM
User Info
Hi,
     I was thinking of trying a Single Edge razor for the first time, but I heard that Double Edge razor's are easier to keep clean. So, I think I'll stick with the DE razor concept for a while longer yet. However, I think I'd like to try a different model from the one I have been using for a few years now which is a Merkur 34C. I was thinking possibly:

1) an adjustable razor, since I only shave every 2, 3 or 4 days to allow my skin to heal, (which causes my beard to grow out some too, presenting longer hair growth for my razor to tackle later, hence the need for an adjustable razor).

2) a milder, gentler, less aggressive shaving razor than my Merkur 34C, which I think might be on the aggressive end of the spectrum.

So, I could use some suggestions on a vintage or modern model I might look for to try out.

Thanks for any help

0 113
 03-26-2019, 08:05 AM
User Info
In vintage razors,  I have found the Gillette 40's style Super Speeds to be mild shavers.

58 9,132
 03-26-2019, 08:08 AM
  • ddk13
  • USA
User Info
The Blackland Vector is very mild for a single edge.  I like mid aggressive razors, but find myself using the Vector quite often even though it takes more passes to get bbs.  I've had no issues keeping it clean.  The Rex Supply adjustable is a good option if you would like an adjustable.  It dials down to a very mild setting.  I like that the head geometry allows for the blade tabs to be hidden, but without sacrificing the width of the cutting edge.  Great razor for getting the hard to reach spots for me, especially under my nose.  Beyond those I think there are several vintage options, most notably the Gillette Tech.  Good luck with your search!!

67 769
 03-26-2019, 08:10 AM
User Info