06-14-2019, 08:40 AM
User Info
Hello all,

I am relative new to traditional shaving Smile

For now I am still learning, and my set-up are : a Gillette Super Speed, pure Simpson badger brush, a Barbon cream, and some aftershave balm like Nivea. Still haven`t tried a lot of blades, only Derby Extra, Gillette Platinum and Shark Super Stainless. For now I like Gillette Platinum most.

I hope my Super Speed (1954 as I understand from date code Z-1) is good for beginners  Blush 

[Image: 20190614-191320.jpg] [Image: clear.png]

0 2
 06-14-2019, 09:39 AM
User Info
Welcome to TSN.   When you have a chance, please introduce yourself in the Introductions section, so our members can give you a proper welcome.

Your Super Speed is an excellent choice for a first razor, and one you can continue to use for the rest of your life.

60 9,699
 06-14-2019, 10:37 AM
User Info
A lovely bit of starter kit. I would stay with one razor until you got the technique down, and I agree that the SuperSpeed is a razor for people starting out - and old hands too. Just an all round good razor.

3 6,716
 06-14-2019, 01:37 PM
  • SCOV
  • Minnesota
User Info
Nice setup and welcome.  Great place to learn.

17 858
 06-14-2019, 02:11 PM
User Info
Perfect starter kit. Welcome to TSN.

0 220
 06-14-2019, 06:13 PM
  • norton
  • The Alien Nation
User Info
Nice kit.  Better than what I started with. 

Those late 40s - early 50s SuperSpeeds are good shavers.  Not overly aggressive, but also not too timid.  Once you learn the angle they like - they can really deliver. 
Some say that the 40s and 50s was when Gillette was at it's DE peak, and those razors are among the best they ever produced. 

Welcome.

15 174
 06-14-2019, 08:31 PM
  • chazt
  • Queens, NY
User Info
Very nice setup. Welcome to TSN Smile

15 3,795
 06-15-2019, 04:25 AM
  • Garb
  • Oregon
User Info