09-19-2012, 12:05 PM
  • Teiste
  • Moderator Emeritus
  • Salt Lake City,UT
User Info
[Image: P1250453.JPG?m=1348082393]

Disclaimer :

1.I'm not the owner of this brush.

2.I'm not against Simpson brand or brushes.I consider Simpson one of the top 3 brushes makers out there with no shadow of a doubt.The quality of their brushes is world wide known.

3.This is my first time using this Manchurian badger hair , but Ill be using it more and write what I find new (or what I dont find new).

Many things have been said/written about the Simpson Manchurian brushes , both the new and the previous ones (made under Mr David Carter Simpson's ownership).For experienced shavers , there are 3 "Holy Grails" of badger hairs , named :
  • Plisson High Mountain White
  • Rooney Finest
  • Simpson Manchurian

Today was my first attempt with this "elusive" and very expensive kind of badger hair , and I must say that Im not impressed at all with this kind of badger hair...

[Image: P1250454.JPG?m=1348082391]

This brush is simply another example of how good Simpson made their brushes : its stunning , simply and easy as that.Gorgeous you can call it too.The handle is such a beautiful one,heavy,curvy and a pleasure to hold.This brush represents the quintessential of a UK brush maker.Period.I dont think that nobody can argue/will ever argue that.It would be a fool or a "newbie".

Heres a pic with a Tulip 2 Super badger two band :

[Image: P1250459.JPG?m=1348084166]

As I said, this handle is gorgeous , closer to the old Somerset Tulip ones when we talk about "curves".

But Im afraid that the handle is only part of the brush and you want to know what have been my experience with the Manchurian badger hair.