09-21-2012, 10:06 AM
  • vferdman
  • Artisan
  • Western Massachusetts
User Info
I have tried a Gillette New Long Comb recently and was instantly made a fan of aggressive OC shave. However, since I am still a newb at OC I got a bit burned by that razor after a few consecutive shaves. I will still work at it and am loving the shave it provides, but want to try a slightly less aggressive OC. I did get a modern Merkur classic 1904 OC and it's a beauty, but alas, too mild. So, I went looking for a New short comb as I understand it is a milder razor than the long comb. I have found one and it arrived today. It had a bit of copper corrosion (green stuff), but cleaned up very well and is a beauty:

The razor appears to be in very good condition, but is definitely showing signs of wear (I reckon it's about 80 years old). The handle is not cracked at all! I find the handle to be very light and am thinking of filling it with epoxy and/or ballast such as bird shot or brass rod. It is beautiful two tone (copper/brass or gold) and is bigger in diameter than the ball end, which is good. I think a bit of weight would do wonders to improve the feel of it. Also, the handle is ope to air and water up at the threaded hole. I think this allows a lot of corrosion to build up from inside and cause the cracking. Let me know if you have any wisdom on this.

25 1,705
 09-21-2012, 10:15 AM
  • slantman
  • Expert Shaver
  • Leesburg, Florida
User Info
That is a beauty and congratulations. My only advise is to try it out before you do anything to it.

100 12,445
 09-21-2012, 10:21 AM
  • beartrap
  • Resident Цирюльник
  • Southern California
User Info
This is one of the better examples I've seen, congrats!

88 4,233
 09-21-2012, 10:21 AM
  • Johan
  • Barberian of the lathering
  • Sweden
User Info
Congrats!!! Looks nice and you got a box for it to.I have a short comb myself but dont use it much at all. Similar condition.