09-15-2019, 12:28 PM
User Info
I am new to The Shave Nook and have read a few posts the some called shaving a hobby. I can understand that some consider it a hobby when simple shaving has turned to collecting. My personal opinion is that DE/SE/SR shaving is a daily necessity that I've enjoyed  for nearly 60 years and never heard anyone call it a hobby. Maybe I should also call my razor collection a hobby. I maybe having one of those senior moments. Smile

0 10
 09-15-2019, 01:18 PM
User Info
Welcome to TSN! I like to think of shaving as a hobby when I have more than I need, but short of being a collector. E.G., I really only need one or two soaps - yet I have a drawer full. I have 8 brushes, and as many aftershaves. I use everything I have - but have more than I need. The dictionary definition is interesting:

Hobbyist: an activity or interest pursued for pleasure or relaxation

36 1,923
 09-15-2019, 01:30 PM
User Info
mike_the_kraken ' Wrote: The dictionary definition is interesting:

Therefore, it's a hobby for most of us!

0 244
 09-15-2019, 03:15 PM
User Info
It’s because some of us spend an inordinate amount of time and money pursuing shaving hardware and software. Look at some of the pictures of shave dens and there is no way anyone could consider the collections as anything approaching a necessity.

2 370
 09-15-2019, 03:19 PM
User Info
(09-15-2019, 01:30 PM)ImJustMe Wrote:
mike_the_kraken Wrote: The dictionary definition is interesting:

Therefore, it's a hobby for most of us!

I guess then, I am a hobbyist
About the only item I have a collection of is my 55 razors, mostly vintage , Soaps are only 3, Cella (kilo) Arko ( bowl pressed) and Williams/Dove mix

0 10
 09-15-2019, 03:53 PM
  • chazt
  • Queens, NY
User Info