09-23-2012, 10:36 AM
  • oscar11
  • North Dakota
User Info
Where did this come from? That a shaving brush should hold enough lather for 3 passes. The reason I ask is that I've never heard that before I came to internet shaving forums. Of course, I'm entirely self taught when it comes to wet shaving, as I sure many are. Nope, no lessons from Dad. I watched him shave and learned that way. I guess what I'm getting at is the way I've always did it is slightly different. I flood the soap, soak my brush, wash my face. Pour the water off the soap, shake my brush fairly dry and start loading soap. After around 20 seconds if the brush looks loaded to my satisfaction, I start face lathering on a wet face and work up a good lather and shave. After the first pass I rinse my face, leaving it wet and load for another 15-20 seconds, face lather and do pass 2 and touch ups as needed afterwards. I don't do 3 passes but usually have soap left over but I'm not really sure if it would be enough for a 3rd pass without going for more soap. I do know from browsing antique stores a lot of the brushes you see are small diameter brushes. Can you get a 3 pass shave from a 18/20mm brush face lathering? Or is the 3 pass brush a new concept?

12 743
 09-23-2012, 10:39 AM
User Info
I do not think it is possible/optimal to get two passes from an 18mm brush if you face lather.

If you make enough in a bowl, of course you can.

9 2,988
 09-23-2012, 10:45 AM
  • Johnny
  • Super Moderator
  • Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
User Info
I think the three passes thing started from bragging rights, kind of like my car is faster than yours.