09-27-2012, 04:58 PM
  • matthewS
  • sillycon valley
User Info
not trying to be a troll. i'm new to this, about a month now. AM using brush and shave cream and love it. however I'm curious what the actual point of lather is vs just shave oil or shave cream of the kind that don't actually lather.

OK, here is the thing, consider a nice lather extending 1/2 inch or more off the face. the blade is shaving down at the surface, or just barely above. so the foam that is 1/2 inch out is not really doing anything. it did occur to me, that perhaps it is to replace what has been moved as the blade passes by. snow falling into place. but, and I could be doing it wrong, it does not seem to do that. the blade clears the face as well as a snowplow. and then I add some more for the next pass.

so, is this a nice ritual or actually functional? could I just use shave cream without turning it into lather? or maybe I'm doing something wrong, in which case useful to know as well.

1 15
 09-27-2012, 05:27 PM
  • brian
  • I wear sandalwood sandles
  • THE SWAMP (Florida)
User Info
You're not far off base at all!

Water softens hair. Lather holds water to the beard hair to help it soften for cutting.

In addition to holding moisture, the other main benefit is slickness, which as you mentioned is available through other means such as oil as well.

As far as the volume goes, I see the sheer mass of the lather being a side product of the agitation required to properly hydrate the soap.
Ideal lather should perform the same whether it's 1/8 or 1/2 an inch deep / thick Smile

And yes, the snowplow clean path is what you should be getting.

11 366
 09-27-2012, 05:30 PM
  • Arcadies
  • Greeneville, TN
User Info