05-30-2020, 07:22 PM
  • chazt
  • Queens, NY
User Info
This post is adapted from another I made in the Monthly Haul thread.

I am a scent novice. A complete and total newbie. Honestly, I’ve never really been interested in colognes and aftershaves. For most of my shaving life I’ve eschewed most aftershave lotions and colognes. When I was a teenager I bathed in English Leather and Old Spice (did NOT like Brut or Skin Bracer). I also liked the Pinaud Clubman in the barbershop but that was about it. By the time I hit 20-21, I’d essentially stopped using any kind of fragrance. Later, while honeymooning in Bermuda I bought a bottle of Royall Muske cologne, and that bottle lasted for a good 15 years.

When I discovered the joys of traditional shaving, the huge array of scented products was staggering and overwhelming. That was six years ago. Since then I’ve found a handful of scented soaps that are palatable to my and my wife’s olfaction. For the record, the scents I enjoy and have kept in my den are Proraso Red (soap, cream and pre/post), Asylum Shave Works Royal Fougere, ASW Old Virginia, LPL Oud-Santal, B&M Diamond (Heart), B&M Oceana, AoS tallow Sandalwood, Mike’s Lime and Pinaud Clubman. I’ve sold and PIFfed many, many soaps and creams from many different makers that were simply too intensely scented for me. While still predominantly an avowed unscented shaver, little by little I’ve recently begun to expand my scent horizons..

In the last two to three months I’ve purchased a few new soaps and aftershave splashes. I’ve had the P-red splash for quite some time now, and have been using it more frequently in the last few months. Also in the last few weeks, BullGoose has shipped me a couple of orders with various soaps and splashes including a backup of P-red AS splash.