06-15-2021, 08:19 AM
User Info
I'm kinda new to this wet shaving thing.  I picked up an old razor at an auction in a box of junk for  $1.  Nothing in the box was worth saving, except for a clunky old-fashioned razor in its original box.  Reminded me of my Dad.  It said "Gillette Super-Speed" on the red-and-clear plastic box.  It didn't have any indication of a year on it (I later learned it was '48-'50).  I shoved it in my pocket and tossed the rest of my $1 bargain box of junk into the dumpster.  I took the razor home, cleaned it up, and sterilized it.  It was quaint.  There was a package of old blades in there, too.  I didn't look at them, figured they were garbage.  I set it on a shelf with an old box camera and my grandfather's pipe and forgot about it.  Didn't think much of it until about a year later when my electric Norelco's battery was dead and I needed to get to work.  I was out of disposable twin-blade razors (hadn't used them in years).  The clunky old Gillette razor came off the shelf, my last resort.  I opened the fragile, yellowed box of blades and pulled out a razor blade.  It was a rusty relic I didn't dare to use.  So was the next one.  The third one was better; it was rusty here and there, but one side of the blade's cutting edge didn't have any rust on it; it'd have to work.  I poured some alcohol over it and called it good.  I used a can of foam that's been under the sink for many years (maybe over a decade) and this razor.  Surprisingly, the rusty can of foam worked, sort of.  It was more of a watery puss than foamy shaving cream, but I didn't have time to worry about it.  I opened the old razor's Blast Doors that opened up like a missile silo, and dropped in the not-too-rusty old blade.  I waas careful to use only the side of the blade that wasn't rusty.  It wasn't the best shave in the world, but at least I didn't cut myself (no tetanus shots required).  I headed off to work, pretty much on time.  I got through the day without anyone commenti