07-02-2021, 03:24 PM
User Info
I don't always need to take a macro photo, but when I do I like to be able to push in.  So I shoot through a lens backwards.
You need a lens, I used a Canon EFS 18-55.  I have a 'reversing ring' which is a bayonet mount that has threads to screw into the front filter threads.  Now it mounts to the camera 'backwards'.   For the rear, I use an adapter and a filter to create 'front glass'

[Image: ysADZca.jpg]

Then I found that my 'ring light' was too far forward, so I machined an aluminum ring with tiny set screws to draw the front edge of the lamp back.  This was important because with this type of set-up the depth of field is really pretty shallow.   I'm still learning 'photo stacking' but sometimes for more artistic reasons, it's nice to have some out of focus foreground or background.

[Image: IEQvQDF.jpg]

[Image: XE9ZvtR.jpg]

Then I wanted to have an Arca Swiss mount fine adjustment rail.  So I took some 5/8 6061 aluminum, used some hardened rails with linear bearings.  I used a acme threaded rod, so it will stay where I leave it in vertical.  It may not sound that hard ... but one of the hardest parts was figuring out my spacing for an adjustment knob with ten holes on a manual mill.

[Image: YS3SYdg.jpg]

And here it is all together

[Image: lYYuTLH.jpg]

[Image: dpCleCW.jpg]

It works really well for an in-home studio, but may not work as well outdoors with things like butterflies or bees - focusing can be a little much of a challenge, and it should go without saying, but since you mount the lens backwards, you lose all auto focus and can't really use any 'program mode' on the camera and the f-stop can't be auto-adjusted.  So you will have to use the meter to get your exposure right.

Hope you enjoyed it.

8 249
 07-02-2021, 03:43 PM
  • chazt
  • Shimmer of Techs
  • Queens, NY
User Info