08-14-2021, 04:36 PM
  • Bax
User Info
Here's my latest from an estate sale (it's one of four I detailed in the Monthly Haul thread).  I got 4 razors (mostly Super Speeds) for $50.  This Aristocrat was among them, and is probably the most interesting of the 4 razors:

[Image: y0JyZ3I.jpg]
As you can see, the finish leaves a bit to be desired.  The handle is in good shape and so is the baseplate, but the missile silo doors have some finish problems that polishing didn't solve.  One of the safety bars has a nasty finish on one side (the opposite side from the one in the pics).  It's not teh prettiest Aristocrat, but it looks to be like it'll be a good utilitarian razor. 

Not sure if this is an oddball or not.  The handle looks different than most of the NDC Aristocrats I've seen online, with just two grooves on the TTO knob, and a big smooth spot at the base of the handle above the knob.  It's a no-notch, so I reckon it's a 1946-47. 

Then again, I'm not very good at online research using this confounded newfangled interweb netspace. 
For all I know, ALL the handles on Aristocrats look like this one!
  ;-)
- Bax

0 334
 08-14-2021, 05:17 PM
  • garyg
  • Great Lakes
User Info
I'm almost always confused - is it maybe a Milord?  My recall is they looked like the 40's SSs but in gold?

82 829
 08-14-2021, 05:40 PM
  • Bax
User Info
Great Scott!
I used your clue for further research, Gary, and look what I found:
http://www.mr-razor.com/Rasierer/One-Pie...Milord.JPG
I think you called it!  Thanks for the tip!

Looks like I'm the proud owner of a 1946 Milord!  It has the right number of rings, no blade notch, no date, same knurling.  Eureka!  I think that's it!

Huzzah!
  :-)
- Bax

P.S.  This is a great link for researching old Gillettes:
http://www.mr-razor.com/Rasierer/Gillett...sierer.htm

0 334
 08-14-2021, 05:52 PM
  • garyg
  • Great Lakes
User Info
Achim at Mr. Razor is a great source ..  you know, I think I have a razorless Milord case somewhare ..  Rolleyes