06-25-2022, 12:59 PM
User Info
I have been using a safety razor and shaving brush over 30 years.  In 1987 I was a poor student and bought this yellow Omega brush in Barcelona. I can't imagine I paid more than $7 or $8 for it.  It hass incredibly soft tips now.  I have added a few brushes over the years including the new Simpson Trafalgar I just got for Father's Day.  I have to say, if forced I'd choose the small Truefitt and Hill (Chubby 1 size).  It's a really good size for my hand.  The Taylor of Old Bond Street brush is nice, but a little too floppy.

[Image: 2QFWw6y.jpg]

0 28
 06-25-2022, 01:26 PM
User Info
Welcome to TSN and thanks for your first post!  

What is the brush on the far left?  Is that one of the house brand brushes from the pre-2015 Vintage Blades LLC?

Years ago I had the same Truefitt & Hill in a size 2 and it was an excellent brush.  There are some who believe the older Truefitt & Hill brushes were made by Rooney, the legendary and somewhat mysterious brushmaker.

60 11,985
 06-25-2022, 01:37 PM
User Info
Nice range of brushes you have there.  The Truefitt & Hill looks like a fine face lathering brush.

2 247
 06-25-2022, 01:44 PM
User Info
That brush on the left doesn't have a name, just a logo on the bottom.  I'm guessing it's "New York Shave"
It's a nice badger, but for me it's just too large.  Is that a thing?  I think I'm odd in that I like slightly smaller knots.
This knot is 24mm diameter and 55mm in height.
[Image: Utjofu2.jpg]

0 28
 06-25-2022, 01:45 PM
User Info
Good post and welcome.
You have a nice variety of brushes. What knots do you like best?
What's your "sweet spot" as far as knot size goes. Scrubby or furry? Enquiring minds want to know.  Sherlock

101 7,698
 06-25-2022, 01:49 PM
User Info
(06-25-2022, 01:44 PM)paulml Wrote: That brush on the left doesn't have a name, just a logo on the bottom.  I'm guessing it's "New York Shave"