10-28-2012, 04:43 PM
User Info
Hey Guys,

I'm relatively new to wet-shaving as I've only been doing it constantly for a few weeks but not new to shaving in general as I've been in the Army for a decade. Shaving every day is a way of life.

Talk me into trying an aftershave/cologne. What are the benefits and downsides? What if you have acne, what could help/worsen it? What are your favorites that are cheap? Shipping to Afghanistan isn't easy on the wallet!

Thanks in advance for the advice and recommendations.

2 127
 10-28-2012, 09:46 PM
  • freddy
  • San Diego, California, U.S.A.
User Info
Honestly, for just a basic aftershave with no scent to speak of, which hazel is superb. I use it after every shave. While I don't have acne, witch hazel, even the ones containing 14% alcohol, is considered a skin toner and not drying like pure alcohol can be.

Scented aftershave splashes can give a real boost to your ritual because of the sensory triggers. The scent is, of course, a personal choice but may not linger very long.

Good, unscented aftershave balms can be excellent moisturizers, which may help in those cold dry climates, but only a tiny amount is needed otherwise you'll end up with a greasy mess on your face.

Colognes and eau de toilettes (EdT) are really all about the scent and, like the aftershave splashes, scent is a personal thing. The scents of these usually last longer than the aftershave splashes.

2 11,211
 10-28-2012, 10:06 PM
User Info
Freddy,

Thanks for the response. The lingering of how long the scent of an aftershave lasts was one of my questions. I would assume most people that do use an aftershave don't use much of a scented soap/cream.

Thanks again!

2 127
 10-29-2012, 08:43 AM
  • tgutc
  • Michigan
User Info