Poll: Do you stretch your skin while shaving?
Note: This is a public poll, other users will be able to see what you voted for.
 11-12-2012, 07:43 AM
User Info
As a traditional shaver now for almost a year and half I love how I'm still learning and improving thanks to the interactions with the fine folks here at the Nook. In a recent conversation I suggested to someone that they might try stretching their skin to provide a flatter surface area for the balde to glide across. The funny thing was that as I was typing that to him I realized that I haven't really been stretching my skin much during my shaves. Last night I remedied that.

I actually searched youtube for some straight shaving videos that demonstrate how they stretch the skin. I didn't really learn anything new, but it was a very nice refresher. I did my normal prep, lathered up (a little differently as I was comparing a couple brushes), and then began to stretch.

In the beginning of my traditional shaving I was scared to stretch too much as I would read it could lead to increased irritation and ingrown hairs. I've never had an ingrown hair problem, but I did have a big problem with irritation so I avoided lots of stretching.

Last night, however, I was a stretching fool. Every stroke I took with my OCMM was on stretched skin. My first pass I couldn't tell much difference but I didn't let that discourage me. I stayed the course. When I hit my ATG pass next is when I could hear the trumpets sounding and harps playing in the background as the clouds rolled back. Oh my! I didn't need a full 3rd pass, just a jaw line touch-up to get those hairs that grow E-W instead of N-S. Final result was one of the best feeling BBS shaves with zero irritation that I've experienced. I will try this again tomorrow with a sold bar razor, the EverReady Streamline, as those don't usually shave as close for me as the open combs do. If that all goes well, then I'll try the same thing with my nemesis, the DE blade.