03-22-2012, 02:03 PM
  • bjorney
  • Los Angeles
User Info
Hi,

I've been wetshaving with DE, SE and injectors for about 2 years. I started with DE and never went back to multiblade cartridges...

After a while I tried a Schick Injector (Easy Rider from 1969 or 70) and was kind of shocked at what a great shave I got with it, with very little effort. I've since added G and E models to the rotation and love them!

Later still I tried various SE razors, 1912 GEM and Star, all 3 GEM Micromatics and a 1924 Ever Ready. Once again the quality of shave blew me away!

So now I'm asking this of all the "cross-training" (DE,SE, injector) shavers out there:
Can you get as great a shave from a DE as is easily achievable with an SE or injector?

If so, what's the magic technique I'm missing? Is it that the SE and injectors force you into a correct angle that I don't have with my DEs? Is it the stiffer blades? Is it that the SEs I like are all aggressive razors?

I'm capable of getting very good to great shaves with my DEs, but it takes a lot more time and care. When I select a DE these days it's generally to get a CCS to DFS. I use a 40s SuperSpeed, 70s Super Adjustable, Star DE or Gillette NEW (long-comb), usually with a sharp blade like a Rapira or one of the St. Petersburg blades.

When I choose an SE it's pretty much a sure thing that I will get a DFS or BBS in 2 passes plus touch-up.

Any other "cross-trainers" out there who want to weigh in?

0 911
 03-22-2012, 03:22 PM
User Info
Bjorn,
I'm with you 100% here. I, too, get my best shaves from the aggressive SE razors. The OCMM is my daily driver. The only DE that I've found that can give as good of a shave (for me) is a Slant bar. I have a Merkur 39C (thanks to Dave (itsmedave)) and I love it. It's the only DE that can give me the same results I get from a DE. I still have to pay it a bit more attention than my OCMM, but not much and it can actually be a bit smoother.