12-17-2012, 03:49 PM
User Info
[Image: 16bk0mu.png]

For those who do not know Bob Quinn (Eskimo at TSN) or his site Elite Razors, he is one of our Artisan Vendors. I recently had Bob turn some custom handles for my short handled Merkurs and we got to talking and I found Bob an amazing fount of information. The handles can be seen in a thread in the DE razors section, but suffice to say they turned out better than I could have hoped for. Below is the interview that stemmed from our talking.

Before we get down to the nitty gritty, could you please tell us a little about yourself?

I was born in Southern California (Coronado) and promptly began traveling the world as a military child. I’ve been in the Atlanta area since 1989 with my wife and 5 children.

How did you get into the custom making of razor handles and brushes? How long have you been doing this? Do you have a second job to pay for this hobby?

I’ve been woodworking for about 45 years, initially focusing on big pieces. 10 years ago, when my twin boys came along, I realized that I could no longer take on projects that were measured in months and took up the whole garage. I built a workshop and began woodturning and have never looked back. Initially, I made custom pens, but then got into other projects, one of which was shaving brushes.

The custom razors came about by accident. I sold a brush to a gentleman who contacted me requesting a matching razor. I had never done one, but how could I say no? After a few false starts, I built my first custom Merkur 34C and the rest is history.

The other side of my life is as a Senior Business Analyst for a financial software company focusing on stock and bond processing, which has certainly helped to subsidize my exotic sawdust addiction.

You have stone, woods, resins and now wildlife skins. What is your favorite material to work with?

The last one I used….. Biggrin