12-23-2012, 08:24 AM
User Info
I am a fair cook. In our household the kitchen is my domain. My wife has no desire to cook and ceded the kitchen to me. I have good quality knives, cookware, gadgets and devices.

We are having dinner guests on Christmas Eve. Lasagna, homemade rolls and salad. I have a double wall oven so i can get the lasagna and fresh hot rolls to the table at the same time.

My wife informed me last night that one of the guests is bringing some sort of dip. They expecd to use my stand mixer, cutlery and cutting boards.

But more importantly they expect (demand) space and time in my kitchen. Both of which are at a premium.

I think this is quite nervy on their part. I told them no. My wife said I am being rude. I say if they insist on bringing something a bottle of wine is fine. Not food that needs to be prepared while I am trying to plate up.

My kitchen is more sacred than my shave nook! I don't even let my wife use my cookware nor good cutlery. And she thinks I'm rude for not wanting a stranger in there.

I think the guest is being rude for expecting me to supply space and time in my kitchen.

I have been over ruled by my wife. I pointed ou that the last time my wife let someone in my kitchen we lost a pan. Her sister used a serrated steak knife to cut bacon in an All-clad non-stick omelet pan! Bringing that up did not gain me sympathy. Actually hurt my case as I "dragged up old history".

Well thanks for letting me vent.

Phil

7 363
 12-23-2012, 08:37 AM
  • bullgoose
  • The Enabler
  • Redondo Beach, California, U.S.A
User Info
I agree wholeheartedly with you Phil. We have an aunt that does this (brings unprepared food and commandeers the kitchen). Yup...it's nervy.

48 19,841
 12-23-2012, 09:05 AM
User Info