12-29-2012, 12:19 PM
User Info
I've been wetshaving for a few years, and I've accumulated a lot of razors. Solid bar, open comb, DE, SE, adjustable, TTO, you name it. Some of them are uncommon (the British Aristocrats), some less so (EJ DE89, Superspeeds.) I've used all these razors too, sometimes just a few times but I have given them all a solid try.

I think I may have found the perfect razor, at least for me.

The humble Aristocrat Junior.

[Image: 1949%20%28U2%29%20Aristocrat%20jr.JPG]

This is a British made solid bar TOO razor. It doesn't have the heft of the other British Aristocrats, nor does it have the prestige and frankly the cost.

What it does do is shave well. I've put a number of different blades in this - from the cheap (Shark) to the expensive (Gillette 7 O'clock Black) to the dearly departed (Gillette Bleue Extra.) They all perform well in this razor; it isn't picky. It just performs well.

And I think that is what I like most about this razor. It always works, and works well. I never have a day when the razor is too aggressive or too mild. It is efficient and effective without being too much so.

I've been using this razor exclusively for a few months now. This isn't the first time I've done that - I've used razors for weeks at a time, then I get the urge to try something different.

What makes the Aristocrat Junior unique is that... I don't really want to try something different this time. I'm happy with this razor. If this was the only razor I had, I'd be perfectly content.

Maybe I'll feel differently in a month or two, but right now I think I've found my razor.

12 1,243
 12-29-2012, 12:30 PM
User Info
A beautiful TTO Gillette. Thanks for sharing!

47 1,270
 12-29-2012, 12:43 PM
User Info
Do you feel it shaves differently to the other British Aristocrats with the same flat baseplate? I've a few Aristos with that head design and an AJ with the pressed diamond plate, but not one with the heavier baseplate.

0 40
 12-29-2012, 12:48 PM
User Info