01-04-2013, 02:21 PM
  • vferdman
  • Artisan
  • Western Massachusetts
User Info
I am a relative newbie in this DE shaving thing. About 9 months or so. But I jumped right in and will never shave with a cartridge again! As most beginners I tried many things and have learned a lot from this and other forums. One thing I learned about boar brushes is that they require a long soak before use. When I use badger brushes I just soak them while I brush my teeth, prep my face and gear and fill the sink with water. About 5-7 minutes at most. I did that with my first boar, Omega 10275, which is an outstanding inexpensive brush, BTW. It worked fine. Then I read up more on boars and got into Semogues (1305 and 1470). Semogues took a long time to break in, especially the 1470. I didn't shave much with them at first, just lathered them. Then I started shaving with them and soaking them for at least 20 minutes. They ate my lather! Especially the 1470. I sold the 1305 because it was too big for me and too floppy. I really liked the short lofted Omega 10275 and really wanted to love the short lofted 1470. But, alas, 1470 kept eating the lather. I stopped using boars for a while (badger addiction kicked in), but really missed them. Then I had a chance to restore a couple of old brush handles and I chose Omega boar knots from TGN. Those are unbanded, unbleached short loft knots that are in many Omega brushes. I broke them in (much easier than Semogue) and used them as I use badgers as far as soaking regiment. They were great! No lather eating. By this time my Semogue 1470 got exiled to a cabinet out of rotation. I just could not make it work for me. Ate lather and left me none to shave with. I almost forgot about it. Recently I bought a very interesting old boar brush because of the handle, but when it arrived I decided to try it since it looked like a very high quality Semogue-like boar knot. After a good thorough washing I shaved with it and again, soaked it for almost an hour (put