01-06-2013, 03:31 PM
  • MikeD
  • Mississippi
User Info
Good afternoon. My name is Mike and I am new to traditional wet shaving. Ever since I was 20 or so I have been shaving at least twice a week. Up until about a year ago my shave was typically this: wet face with hot water, lather up cream in hand, shave with a fusion glide, and after shave balm. Then I started using a hot towel and had a little brush from TAOS that was in one of their gift sets. I loved using the brush. Then this past year I decided I wanted to try traditional wet shaving. So my wonderful wife of almost 10 months decided to get me a wet shaving set for Christmas/Birthday. She got me a Merkur DE Safety (not sure the type because it was wrapped in another box), a pure badger brush, a stand, and some Merkur blades. Ever since I started using a brush to lather my cream (before I switched razors) I started to enjoy shaving. I relished the time. It was my time to unwind. Now that I've made the switch to a DE Safety I enjoy the shaving even more. I try to take my time and put into practice the things I'm learning. I truly love my time shaving! It is the time after the shave that is difficult right now. I read LeisureGuy's Guide to Gourmet Shaving and tried to take in as much as I could. The first time I shaved using the DE it went well. I had a couple nicks and some razor burn. Then today I really took my time even felt like I had done a decent job. Apparently it is worse than I thought. When I got to church someone asked if I cut myself shaving. I actually only had one small nick but it wasn't bleeding. What they were seeing was at my jawline and below. Looking in the mirror I guess I didn't see it as that bad, but then my wife mentioned it. Then I took a pic and that revealed what they saw. I've ordered a sample pack of razors, Musgo Real Glyce Lime soap, and alum bar from BullGooseShaving. I am hear to learn, and hopefully overcome this razor burn because I love the time shaving with my DE razor. H