03-28-2012, 06:41 AM
User Info
Well I finally got my dad willing to go back to wet shaving!!! He used straights for a long time and he still has them but they are worn down to nothing from sharpening and honing for many many years. He seems to wat to use and adjustable DE because he had an "old Gillette" you could dial in from 1-9 and get "just perfect". I told him about the Futur and he got excited until I told him the price. I then mentioned I could pick up a used on and save some $$ but he is leary of using a used razor. So my question is should I try to find a vintage Gillettte (which does not have the stigma of a used razor for some strange reason) or steer him towards the Futur. As I have no knowledge of adjustables what would I be looking for if I were to look for a classic?

2 87
 03-28-2012, 07:49 AM
User Info
I've never used a Future, but I have used a Gillette Slim adj. . Just clean and sanitize the old razor and it's fine to use. I'm not aware of any plastic parts in the Fatboy or Slim, and I've always boiled them in detergent water to loosen the crud and sanitize the thing. I don't know anything about the (I forget the name- Super Adjustable? - I dunno) black Gillette adjustable, so I'm no help there.

You can get quite affordable Slims even on the 'bay. For some reason Fatboys on e-bay have a magical property associated with them for some reason and they can sell for far more than they are worth IMO. But a Slim shaves just as nicely as a Fatbay, and both shave superbly.

While Slims can be found on e-bay I prefer to buy mine used from folks who know razors, as on the buy/sell forum. Or you can put a WTB post there and ask for one to meet your specs. I've also found pricing "within the community" to be fair.

You've already made the mind leap to a used razor, because you mentioned that you suggested a used Future to bring down the cost. One used razor has no more or no less "used stigma" than another.