01-19-2013, 03:35 PM
User Info
Hi Guys...
A noob here... Ive been shaving with 3/5 Blades Cartridge razors all my life. I am sick and tired of it and want to make the jump to Straight razor shaving. I have set aside a hard budget of $200 for getting my supplies. Can you folks please recommend what I need to buy? And will this budget suffice?

I was thinking about getting a DE Razor instead but shaving with straight razors is what I really wanna do, and skipping the DE level will probably save me some money as well....

Thoughts?

0 12
 01-19-2013, 03:52 PM
User Info
You are definitely bolder than I as after 4 years of this, I have yet to take the straight razor plunge. Whipped Dog gets great reviews on his sight unseen deals and I've seen a lot of folks start there.

http://www.whippeddog.com/

Good luck!

5 938
 01-19-2013, 04:04 PM
User Info
Although I, too, have not built-up the courage to try a straight razor shave, I can attest to the fact that Larry from Whipped Dog is a very nice and honest guy and very well reviewed. There's nothing to lose by sending him an email with your thoughts and questions.

0 386
 01-19-2013, 05:45 PM
User Info
All you need is a SHAVE READY straight razor. Try it once, if you like it, buy a $15 strop from Star Shaving. You'll 98% probably nick it. Once you get the hang of stropping and don't nick your strop, then you can buy a more expensive strop. You'll eventually want a two piece strop (cotton/linen and leather).

While, you should probably try to keep the costs down by buying a WD or Gold Dollar (and having someone sharpen it), the resale value of a Dovo Best is pretty high, so you won't lose much money either way if you don't rust it.